Review: Phantom Bigfoot & The Vampettes From Venus

I’ve been looking forward to dipping into Simon Okill’s unique brand of writing. I’ve seen reviews and hilarious references to his work, so I wasn’t sure what to expect as it’s a little outside my usual reading material. I found an entertaining read awaiting me. Simon Okill certainly knows how to spin a fun mad yarn, no holds barred.

Here’s my review:

Phantom Bigfoot & The Vampettes From Venus (Phantom Bigfoot Series, #2)Phantom Bigfoot & The Vampettes From Venus by Simon Okill
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bigfoot mayhem liberally laced with toilet humour abounds in this paranormal adventure.

The arrival of the FBI distracts the town’s sheriff from solving wanton–read “gross”–vandalism of resident’s bathrooms. Yes, these odorous crimes warrant the attention of two FBI agents! (Only in Bigfoot world.) Duane, teen protector of his Bigfoot kin, has a precarious hold of his powers, young love is in the air, and there are vampettes on the loose.

All the madness combines to form a well-written and fast-paced riot filled with larger-than-life characters, both human and not-human. I read this book, eyes wide, wondering if I should create my own stash of happy juice before turning the next page. My one warning: Never let a Bigfoot loose in your kitchen. Love that scene.

Five stars for the sheer outrageousness of it all. A great fun read.

One thought on “Review: Phantom Bigfoot & The Vampettes From Venus”

Leave a Reply

